Thursday Tip: The Sandwich Method, Redux

Teaching writing classes, I spend a lot of time working with students on using developing their ideas and using evidence to support their points. I wrote about my Sandwich Method ages ago, and I’ve updated it – and created a video that explains it – that I think is better. I like the new version because (and bear with me, because this seems like a minor change) in the new version the “meat” is the analysis, rather than the quotation/summary/paraphrase.

That may seem like a silly distinction, but I think it much better represents what we want the meat of a paper to be – a student’s own thoughts, rather than what other people have said.

I used the new version – and the video, below – this week with my summer students who are working on their researched essay drafts. To view the Google Slides presentation that I use in the video, here it is: Using Evidence in a Researched Essay

This work by Breana Bayraktar is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a comment